Google Shopping Ads
What Are Google Shopping Ads? (The simple guide)
Google Shopping Ads are designed for E-commerce sites like shopify. They allow you to show up at the top of Google Search Results when someone searches for something related to your products.
It works by targeting certain words or phrases relating to your products.
We love Google Shopping Ads, it’s not because they’re easy – their actually quite techinical – it’s because it’s so easy to measure the ROI. For each £ spent you know how much revenue we generated, we’ll report this as Return On Ad Spend (ROAS).
ROAS = Revenue / Ad Spend. So if your revenue is £10,000, and the ad spend is £2,000 to get it, the the ROAS is 5.
It’s a great way to get ahead and boost your online presence. But, if you don’t understand the process it can be a costly mistake.
How Does It Look?
Below is an example of what is shown if you search “Buy A Samsung Phone”, the area highlighted in red is the Google Shopping Ads
The Technical Bit – Feel free to skip this, we won’t be offended.
So there’s actually three parts to Shopping Campaigns, which we’ll briefly explain each below, but rest assured we handle all three.
The process starts with what’s at the backend of your website in the database of products a that you sell.
Here your products will have a whole range of fields and data that is useful for Google to understand what it is that you sell and therefore what searches are related to your products.
Including things like Product Description, Title, Google Product Code etc. We can also add in things like Gender and Age if your products are specific to those.
It’s crucial that this information is correct and relevant to your products – otherwise you miss out on sales or get charged for searches not related to your product.
Google Merchant Centre
From your Website the data needs to be loaded into Google Merchant Centre – this can be manual (not recommended) or automated (yes please).
Google then organises this data into a format that can be sent to Google Ads. It is also where things like Customer Reviews, Shipping Information & Rates, Branding are also set-up.
There’s a whole host of other technical things that go on in the Google Merchant Centre, and we’re happy to go through them, but we don’t want to bore you with them all now – and if you don’t want to know that’s fine, you can judge us by the return on your investment.
Next the products are available in Google Ads. From here we finally set up the Google Shopping Campaigns.
You might want to focus on Best Sellers or Highly Profitable lines, particular brands or certain items. That’s why we take the time to understand your business so we can do that for you.
In a similar way to other parts of Google Ads, you can target specific locations, times of the day, days of the week, mobile or desktop users and combinations of all of the above.
The key to optimising any campaign is to look at what works and what doesn’t, this changes over time and so constant optimisation is the key.
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